Skip to main content

News and Events


UC San Diego Health Recognized by Vizient as 2022 Top Performer

UC San Diego Health has been recognized as a top performer in the 2022 Bernard A. Birnbaum, MD, Quality Leadership Ranking by Vizient, Inc. UC San Diego Health is one of a few members in the “Comprehensive Academic Medical Center” cohort to be recognized for excellence in delivering high-quality care. This achievement represents the fourth consecutive year that UC San Diego Health has been ranked among the top ten academic health systems in the United States.

Dr. Lynette Cederquist: Muriel Jeannette Whitehill Chair in Bio-Medical Ethics endowed chair, in School of Medicine, effective as of May 1, 2022 through April 30, 2027.

Megha Shankar, M.D. received the Building Trust Grant to support DEI efforts for her project
A Perfect Pair: Didactic Sessions and Community Partnerships as Social Justice Curriculum for Internal Medicine Primary Care Residents.

2022-2023 UC San Diego Health Ranks #1 Regionally by U.S. News & World Report

According to the 2022-2023 U.S. News & World Report “Best Hospitals” survey, UC San Diego Health has once again ranked #1 in San Diego and #5 in California, placing it among the nation’s best health care providers. Designed to assist patients and doctors in making informed health care decisions, these annual rankings distinguish hospitals that excel in providing multidisciplinary, comprehensive care for the most challenging health conditions.

2022 GIM Dr. Lawrence Friedman Mentorship Award                                                                               

The UCSD Department of Medicine sponsored an annual mentorship award in remembrance of the impact of Dr. Lawrence Friedman and his pivotal role in developing a future generation of physician leaders. The 2022 GIM Faculty awardee of the first Dr. Lawrence Friedman Mentorship Award is Dr. Simerjot Jassal. 

Dr. Jassal was nominated for her outstanding leadership and impact in our division and department. Her peers commend her for tireless service with incredible leadership inclusive of gender. “She has shaped us as individual doctors as a community of excellent physicians and inspires greatness daily. She will stop no obstacle when mentoring us, caring for us as people, investing in our career development, or growing our residency excellence. In my mind, there is no one more deserving of this award.” 

Medicine 401 Excellence in Teaching Award for AY2021-22                                                                   

 We are pleased to announce that Lawrence Ma, MD is the recipient of a Medicine 401 Excellence in Teaching Award for AY2021-22!  This award is given in recognition of outstanding attendings and residents who display exemplary dedication, support, and commitment to educating our third year medical students.  

2022 Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award

Congratulations to Amy Sitapati, MD was chosen to receive the 2022 Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award, presented by The Arnold P. Gold Foundation.

2022 Department of Medicine Excellence in Mentoring Award 

Congratulations to Rechell Rodriguez, MD who is a recipient of the inaugural Excellence in Faculty Mentorship in Education award for 2022.  This award is in recognition of the outstanding contributions of Dr. Rodriguez to the mentorship of junior faculty and leaders in academic medicine.

Academy of Clinician Scholars Faculty Development Award 

Congratulations to Edward Chao, DO who received the Academy of Clinician Scholars Faculty Development award for "A touch sensor as a non-invasive, personalized modality for testing glucose“.

2022 Bedside Medicine fellowship from the Society of Bedside Medicine  

Congratulations to Megha Shankar, MD for being awarded a 2022 Bedside Fellowship from the Society of Bedside Medicine.  Dr. Shankar’s Society of Bedside Medicine project involves the development, implementation, and evaluation of a reproductive justice workshop based on the Presence 5 framework for humanism and anti-racism in medicine.  

Hispanic Center of Excellence (HCOE) faculty development program Clinician Scholars 

Congratulations to Eric Mendez, MD and Joseph Diaz, MD who were selected as a first year faculty scholar in the Hispanic Center of Excellence (HCOE) faculty development program.

UC San Diego 2021 Top Docs 

More than 100 UC San Diego Health physicians in 48 specialties were named “Top Docs” in the annual San Diego Magazine “Physicians of Exceptional Excellence” survey.  Congratulations Dr. Marlene Millen, Dr. Amy Sitapati & Dr. Lawrence Ma who were recognized among San Diego County's best doctors by their peers!